We are committed to serving the best interests of our shareholders.

Board of Directors Audit Governance and Nominating Compensation
Earl (Duke) M. Collier Jr

Since 2010, Mr. Collier has served as chief executive officer of 480 Biomedical and executive chair of Arsenal Medical, Inc., both of which are polymer biotherapeutics companies focused on serious clinical problems unable to be solved by current therapies. Mr. Collier was president at deCODE genetics, Inc., a biopharmaceutical company, from 2009 to 2010, and was executive vice president at Genzyme Corporation from 1997 to 2009. He also has served as president of Vitas Healthcare, a partner at the law firm of Hogan & Hartson LLP, and deputy administrator of the Health Care Finance Administration (now Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services) in the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services. Mr. Collier serves on the board of directors of 480 Biomedical, Arsenal Medical, Inc., Capricor, and TransMedics, Inc. He is also chairman of the board of trustees of Newton-Wellesley Hospital and chair of the Innovation Advisory Board of Partners Healthcare System. Mr. Collier received a bachelor of arts degree from Yale University and a law degree from the University of Virginia Law School.

James O. Armitage

Dr. James Armitage is currently the Joe Shapiro Chair for the Study of Oncology and Clinical Research at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha. He is a member of numerous professional organizations, and served as President of the American Society of Clinical Oncology and as President of the American Society for Blood and Marrow Transplantation. Dr. Armitage has authored or co-authored numerous articles, book chapters and abstracts, and currently serves on the editorial boards of several peer-reviewed journals. He has served the University of Nebraska Medical Center in a variety of leadership roles, including as Vice Chairman of the Department of Medicine, Henry J. Lehnhoff Chairman, Department of Internal Medicine, and Dean, College of Medicine. Dr. Armitage received a M.D. degree from the University of Nebraska, Omaha.

David M. Mott

David M. Mott has served on our Board of Directors since May 2010 and as the Chairman of the Board of Directors since July 2011. Mr. Mott has served as a general partner of New Enterprise Associates, an investment firm focused on venture capital and growth equity investments, since September 2008, where he leads the healthcare investing practice. From 1992 until 2008, Mr. Mott worked at MedImmune Limited, a biotechnology company and subsidiary of AstraZeneca Plc (NYSE:AZN), and served in numerous roles during his tenure including chief financial officer, president and chief operating officer, and most recently as chief executive officer from October 2000 to July 2008. During that time, Mr. Mott also served as executive vice president of AstraZeneca Plc from June 2007 to July 2008 following AstraZeneca Plc's acquisition of MedImmune Limited in June 2007. Prior to joining MedImmune Limited, Mr. Mott was a vice president in the healthcare investment banking group at Smith Barney, Harris Upham & Co. Inc. Mr. Mott received a bachelor of arts degree from Dartmouth College. Mr. Mott also serves as the chairman of the boards of directors for 3-V Biosciences, Inc. and Zyngenia, Inc., and serves on the board of directors of Ardelyx, Inc., Epizyme, Inc., Omthera Pharmaceuticals, Inc. and Prosensa.

Lawrence (Larry) M. Alleva

Lawrence (Larry) M. Alleva was appointed to our Board of Directors in March 2012. Mr. Alleva is currently retired. Prior to his retirement in June 2010, Mr. Alleva was employed by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, or PwC, for 39 years, 28 of which as a partner with the firm. Mr. Alleva served clients primarily in the technology sector, including numerous pharmaceutical and biotechnology companies. Additionally, he served PwC in a variety of office and regional practice leadership roles, most recently as the U.S. ethics and compliance leader (assurance) for PwC from 2006 until his retirement. Mr. Alleva is a Certified Public Accountant (inactive). Mr. Alleva received a bachelor of science degree in accounting from Ithaca College and attended Columbia University’s Executive MBA Program. Mr. Alleva also serves as a director for GlobalLogic, Inc. and for Bright Horizons Family Solutions, a NYSE registrant.


Kavita Patel

Dr. Kavita Patel was appointed to our Board of Directors in April 2016. Dr. Patel has served as a Senior Fellow at The Brookings Institution, as well as a practicing physician at Johns Hopkins, since January 2011. She has more than fifteen years of healthcare leadership experience and clinical work, with an emphasis on bridging research, innovation, policy and advocacy. Prior to joining The Brookings Institution, Dr. Patel served as Director of Policy for the Office on Intergovernmental Affairs and Public Engagement at The White House from 2009 to 2010. Prior to that, she served as Deputy Staff Director for Health for Senator Edward M. Kennedy from 2007 to 2009. Currently, Dr. Patel serves as a member of the Board of Directors of SSM Healthcare and Dignity Healthcare, which are nonprofit integrated delivery systems and Community Catalyst, a national advocacy organization. She also serves as an advisory board member for the National Commission of Physician Payment Reform, the Robert Graham Center for Policy Studies in Family Medicine and Primary Care, and the Johns Hopkins Medicine Sibley Hospital Innovation Hub. Dr. Patel earned her Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Texas at Austin, her M.D. from the University of Texas Health Science Center, and her M.S.H.S. from the University of California, Los Angeles.

Beth Seidenberg M.D.

Beth Seidenberg, M.D. has served on our Board of Directors since June 2011. Dr. Seidenberg has been a partner at Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, a venture capital firm, since May 2005, where she has primarily focused on life science investing. Dr. Seidenberg was previously the senior vice president, head of global development and chief medical officer at Amgen, Inc. (NASDAQ: AMGN), a biotechnology company. In addition, Dr. Seidenberg was a senior executive in research and development at Bristol Myers Squibb Company (NYSE: BMY), a biopharmaceutical company, and Merck & Co., Inc. (NYSE: MRK), a healthcare company. Dr. Seidenberg received her bachelor of science degree from Barnard College and her medical degree from the University of Miami School of Medicine and completed her post-graduate training at Johns Hopkins University and the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Seidenberg serves on the board of directors of: Auxogyn, Inc., 3-V Biosciences, Inc., Breathe Technologies, Inc., Epizyme, Inc., iPierian Inc. and Redbrick Health Corporation.

Garry A. Nicholson
Retired President, Pfizer Oncology

Garry A. Nicholson was appointed to our Board of Directors in May 2015. Mr. Nicholson has 20 years of experience in oncology drug development and commercialization. He most recently served as President, Pfizer Oncology, from May 2008 until March 2015. As the first leader of Pfizer’s global, dedicated oncology business, Mr. Nicholson had direct responsibility for business strategy and operations, including the oncology sales and marketing organizations globally, clinical development for both early and late stage pipeline candidates, and for licensing and acquisitions. Prior to joining Pfizer, Mr. Nicholson worked at Eli Lilly and Company in a number of leadership roles, including sales management, marketing, human resources, sales and marketing, and oncology drug development.  Mr. Nicholson earned a bachelor of science degree in pharmacy from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and a master of business administration degree from the University of South Carolina, Columbia. 

= Chair of the Board
= Chair
= Member
= Independent Director